Rukmini Devi was the chief guest at the arangetram of Shoba Naidu.
Shoba Naidu and Hema Malini used to perform the roles of Krishna and Satyabama whenever Hema performed in Madras.
Chitra Visweswaran was the first artist to be invited to occupy the Rabindranath Tagore Chair of Fine Arts in the University of Madras.
Natya Sastra was created by the trio Sadhasivar, Brahma & Bharatha. Each contributed 30000, 12000 and 6000 slokas respectively. Gowri, Vasuki, Saraswathi, Narada, Agastya, Vyasa and the disciples of Bharatha also contributed to the creation of Bharatha Sastra, according to Saratha Dhanayar in his book “Bhava Prakasika”. .
The poet Bhasa's literary dramas in Sanskrit bear testimony to the fact that he was proficient in Natya Sastra. He belonged to 300 B.C. So we can infer that Bharata's Natya Sastra originated around 200 B.C.
Poet Kalidasa (100 A.D) wrote the Sanskrit Drama “Malavikagni Mithiram” in which he portrays a dancer as the heroine.
Dr. Sunil Kothari was the first eminent personality to occupy the Chair established in memory of Uday Shankar at Rabindra Bharati University in Calcutta, a post which he held for 14 years in the dance department.
The Uday Shankar Hall at Rabindra Bharati University in Calcutta was inaugurated on his 80th birthday which fell on December 8, 1980 .
Did 'U' Know - Monthwise listing