Click here for all links

LH Kazi, cultural director of Nehru Centre, Mumbai, passed away early morning on 20th July 2021. He was 67. 
More info

Located in Telangana, Ramappa Temple, a 13th century temple (located in the village of Palampet about 200 km north of Telangana’s capital Hyderabad) named after its architect Ramappa, gets world heritage recognition. The decision was taken at the 44th session of the World Heritage Committee of UNESCO held on July 25, 2021 in China. The temple’s sculptures of high artistic quality illustrate regional dance customs and Kakatiyan culture. Dr. Nataraja Ramakrishna, who recreated the glory of Perini dance, and poet Dr. C Narayana Reddy, showed the uniqueness of this temple to the world.

CHICAGO’S CULTURAL TREASURES announced $14.4 million in grant funding to 40 organizations that contribute to the history, culture, vibrancy, and identity of communities of color in greater Chicago. Hema Rajagopalan’s NATYA DANCE THEATER is one of the organizations selected for this honor.

Thane based sets and lighting designer Pathikrit Mukherjee passed away on 27th June 2021.
More info

To commemorate the contributions of the Sattriya dance maestro, Sangeet Sattra presented RASHESWAR SAIKIA BARBAYAN SATTRIYA AWARD for 2021 to Dr. Dilip Ranjan Barthakur (tabla artiste), Gobinda Saikia (Sattriya artiste) and Nani Baruah (musician) at Sangeet Sattra auditorium, Guwahati on July 8, 2021. The award was presented by Kishor Thakuria (Director, Directorate of Cultural Affairs, Govt. of Assam) and Sudharshan Thakur (Secretary, Srimanta Sankaradeva Kalakshetra).

Mumbai based classical music and Kathak dance mentor, choreographer and composer Pandit Anupam Rai passed away on 27th June 2021. He was 62. He leaves behind his wife Rita, daughter Anurita and son Anuratna, besides several disciples.
More info

Dr. I Wayan Dibia, from Denpasar, Bali, is to be awarded the Padma Shri. Bali's most influential Kecak dancer and scholar in the traditional Indonesian art form depicting chapters of the Ramayana, he heads his own dance company, GEOKS, acclaimed for its inventive dance creations.

PADMA SHRI for 2020: 70 year old Moozhikkal Pankajakshi, the only practitioner of Nokkuvidhya Pavakalli, a traditional puppetry art of Kerala

KARNATAKA KALASHREE, the State's highest honour for dance, to be awarded by Karnataka Sangeeta Nrithya Academy to MADHU NATARAJ and PRAVEEN KUMAR for their contributions to dance.

The Padma awards have been announced. The PADMA SHRI for dance goes to Shashadhar Acharya (Chhau), Indira PP Bora (Sattriya), Vajira Chitrasena (Kandyan dance, Srilanka) and Purushottam Dadheech (Kathak).

Sonal Mansingh, Jatin Goswami, K.Kalyanasundaram Pillai, Radha Sridhar, Pasumurthy Ramalinga Sastry, Parameswaran Kuttan Chakkiyar, Surupa Sen, Gopika Varma

The General Council of the Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi at its meeting held on 26 June 2019 at Guwahati, Assam unanimously elected eminent personalities in the field of performing arts. The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rupees three lakh and Akademi Award carries Rupees one lakh besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.
Zakir Hussain, Sonal Mansingh, Jatin Goswami and K.Kalyanasundaram Pillai, for Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellow.
The General Council also selected 44 artists from the field of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the year 2018. These 44 artists include three joint awards.
Dance: nine eminent artists have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2018, namely, Radha Sridhar for Bharatanatyam, Ishira & Maulik Shah (Joint Award) for Kathak, Akham Lakshmi Devi for Manipuri, Pasumurthy Ramalinga Sastry for Kuchipudi, Surupa Sen for Odissi, Tankeswar Hazarika Borbayan for Sattriya, Gopika Varma for Mohiniattam, Tapan Kumar Pattanayak for Chhau, Deepak Mazumdar for Contemporary Dance.
Theatre: Bhagawat A.S.Nanjappa -Yakshagana, A.M.Parameswaran Kuttan Chakkiyar -Kutiyattam.
Folk, puppetry: Anupama Hoskere, Puppetry (String), Karnataka, Hem Chandra Goswami, Mask Making, Assam.
Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts: Diwan Singh Bajeli and Puru Dadhich

Highlights ; Obituaries

Click here for all links
Home | About | Address Bank | News | Info Centre | Featured Columns | Interactive