Marghazhi Bala Utsavam

February 27, 2010 

The "Mylapore Trio" (S Amarnath, S Surendranath, S Aparna) of Sri Sumukhi Rajasekharan Memorial Foundation celebrated the Eighth Margazhi Bala Utsavam, an exclusive festival in which more than 800 children and youth participated in various competitions. The valedictory function was held on 21st February 2010 at Sri Dakshinamurthy Auditorium, Chennai. 

The  utsav witnessed the conferring of title Guru Brahmam (Lifetime Achievement Award) on C Indumathi (Senior most teacher, Dept. of Social Science, Besant Arundale Sr. Sec. School, Kalakshetra, Chennai). The sixth year Patron - Smt. R Nagammal 'Swarna Kalas Rolling Trophy' was shared by JRV Gana Nilayam (Guru Rajeswari Jothi) and Ram Sangeetha Vidhyalaya (Guru Anasuya Ashok Kumar) for participating in large numbers. 

Chief guest Dr. GJ Sudhakar (Prof. & Former HOD of History, Loyola College, Chennai) and guest of honour M Kalaiarasi (Principal, Besant Arundale Sr. Sec. School) distributed various prizes. Revathy Sankkaran presented special prizes to nearly 150 participants.  The audience included doyens, connoisseurs of art, many former and present teachers and students of Besant Arundale Senior Secondary School, who had assembled to show their love, respect and regards for Ms. Indumathi.

The evening started with "Paanduranga Bhakthavijayam," a thematic program of music (abhangs) and dance conceived and directed by the Trio. It was presented as "Katha Prasangam" by the multi-faceted Revathy Sankkaran who was dressed up in traditional Maharashtrian attire. Soul stirring music was rendered by the Foundation children and scintillating dance performance by Balagurunathan and disciples. The stage was aesthetically set with lotuses and pandhi paais, with the idols of Lord Paanduranga and Rukumaayi on centre stage under a traditional colourful temple umbrella. While admitting that the utsav had no sponsors as such, the Trio said they enjoyed doing it with the support of like minded and service oriented parents, friends and well-wishers. 

Sri Sumukhi Rajasekharan Memorial Foundation also celebrated its seventh year anniversary and the commemoration of the fourth year Kala Poshakam monthly concerts, on 14th February 2010, at Narada Gana Sabha (mini hall), Chennai. The Mylapore Trio, Revathy Sankkaran and members of the Foundation offered their pranams and salutations to Prof. NS Jayalakshmi (Retd Prof. of Bharatanatyam, Kalakshetra), by conferring the title Aachaarya Devo Bhava (Lifetime Achievement Award) for her yeoman service and contribution in the field of dance.

The chief guest Dr. Meena Muthaiah (Kumararani of Chettinadu) and guest of honour  Guru VP Dhananjayan,  presented the award (a gold coated copper temple kalasam) with citation and paid rich tributes to Jaya Teacher. 

The program started with Thyagaraja Aaraadhana Pancharathana Kritis by Saroja Balasubramanian and group, followed by an enthralling dance recital by Gayatri and Balagurunathan. The function was graced by eminent personalities like Leela Sekhar,  Savithri Jagannatha Rao, Anitha Guha, Sundari Teacher and Aravinth Kumaraswamy.

The guests appreciated the efforts of the Trio and the Foundation in perpetuating our tradition and culture, especially in Mylapore.