Click here for all links

Srjan presents
26th OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival 2020
September 5 - 9, 2020

September 2, 2020

Over the last 25 years, what started as a one-day celebration of the classical Arts is now considered one of the finest classical dance and music festivals in India's cultural calendar. The OMC GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA AWARD FESTIVAL has always been organised with one specific aim - to create and sustain awareness of our classical traditions in dance and music. Last year, Srjan celebrated 25 years of the festival, a milestone in their journey of Art.

Srjan, as a premier cultural institution of the nation, recognizes the need to sustain creative energy and artistic endeavour while fulfilling its social responsibility to the public and the members of the Art fraternity. In line with this, Srjan is organizing the 26th OMC GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA AWARD FESTIVAL from September 5th to 9th, 2020 on a digital platform, premiered on Facebook Live and YouTube, owing to the exigencies of the ongoing pandemic. The event will be inaugurated by the eminent cine actress Hema Malini and attended virtually by several dignitaries, influential citizens, and luminaries from the world of Art. The Award Festival will be conducted with strict adherence to all the government mandated COVID-19 safety guidelines, while maintaining the required social distancing norms.

The aim of instituting and presenting the GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA AWARD, which carries a respectable allocation of Rs. 1,00,000 and a citation, is to confer recognition upon individuals for their outstanding contribution to the fields of Dance, Music, Cinema, and Theatre. Over 25 years, Srjan has presented 60 such awards to luminaries from these fields. Additionally, the GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA YUVA PRATIBHA SAMMAN, with a cash prize of Rs. 25,000 and a citation is presented to exceptionally talented performing artistes under the age of 40 years in the field of classical dance and Odissi music to acknowledge their outstanding performances.

The OMC GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA AWARD 2020 will be presented to Raj Gopal Mishra, veteran cinematographer for his invaluable contribution and lifetime achievements to the world of Odia Cinema. The GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA YUVA PRATIBHA SAMMAN will be presented to Pravat Kumar Swain for Odissi dance and to Himansu Sekhar Swain for Odissi music acknowledging their dedication to their art forms. The awards will be given by Prof.Ganeshi Lal, Hon'ble Governor of Odisha.

The GURU KELUCHARAN MOHAPATRA AWARD FESTIVAL will feature Odissi by Madhusmita Mohanty, Bharatanatyam by Praveen Kumar, Kathak by Gauri Diwakar, and Vilasini Natyam by Purvadhanashree. The inaugural evening will feature eminent Hindustani musician, Pt. Vishwa Mohan Bhatt. Guru Dhaneswar Swain, distinguished Mardala guru and performer, and Abhishek Raghuram, acclaimed Carnatic vocalist will perform on the second and third evenings respectively, while Tarun Bhattacharya, the renowned Santoor player, will perform on the fourth evening.

The concluding evening will feature the prestigious Award ceremony, followed by the much awaited finale by the Srjan ensemble. This year, Srjan will present ANWESHANAA - A bouquet of neo-classical choreographs in Odissi dance, conceptualized and choreographed by Guru Ratikant Mohapatra. Beginning with an invocation to Lord Rama, Antara Rama, Anweshanaa the explores the intricacies of neo-classical Odissi compositions with dances such as Tarana, and Rase Harim Eha. These presentations are followed by an obeisance to Lord Rama, with Sant Tulsidas' bhajan, Shri Ramachandra Krupalu Bhajamana and conclude with the premiere of Chandrachooda Shiva Shankara, in veneration to Lord Shiva.

The entire festival has been curated and designed by Guru Ratikant Mohapatra, with the programme execution by Debiprasad Mishra. The festival is supported by the title sponsor Odisha Mining Corporation Limited (OMC), gold sponsor, Odisha Tourism, Government of Odisha, and festival sponsors, Ministry of Culture, Government of India, Dept. of Odia Literature Language and Culture, Govt of Odisha, and the MGM Group, Bhubaneswar.

On Facebook
Time: 8pm to 9.30pm


Click here for all links
Previews | Home | About | Address Bank | News | Info Centre | Featured Columns